Quilts in Common

Welcome to our quilting world!

The Allietare Mystery Quilt Part 1

Here we are again! The start of this year’s mystery quilt with Bonnie Hunter! I think this is my 5th year? Maybe? They have all been great fun and I look forward to them all year long.

image

Italy!!!

imageWe went to Italy for our honeymoon!

image

And what a whirlwind tour it was! We’re celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in just a few months, so how perfect is this? And please forgive the 90’s fashions– can you believe that’s 20 years ago????

image

Hadrian’s Castle


But I digress…. Back to the quilt…..I’m changing up the color scheme just a little bit. Bonnie has red, gold, neutrals, grey, and black. I’m doing red, gold, neutrals, grey, and navy. Essentially the same, but a patriotic mix rather than an Italian feel, as this quilt is destined to be a Quilt of Valor.

image

The first step was grey and neutrals HSTs–nearly 300 of them! Since her finished size is much larger than a QOV, I’m making far fewer and then will fill in once I see the reveal. I usually end up changing the pattern a bit, frequently the borders.  In the past I have wanted to eliminate the border and so had to figure out how to extend the blocks and make them finish with a filled-in edge.  Or, as in the case of Easy Street, I was planning to gift the quilt as a wedding present and I wanted to add some appliqué detail. Sometimes I get inspired by one of my fellow mystery quilters, and really go crazy!! So….rather than have loads of leftovers, as I have in previous years, I’m keeping it small.

Jump right in and join us on the mystery- you will have a blast!

 

Happy quilting, everyone!

December 3, 2015 - Posted by | Quilting

2 Comments »

  1. Yay on joining in the mystery!

    Comment by Andee Neff | December 4, 2015 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on your 20th anniversary!

    Lovely to have memories of Italy to inspire your quilt.

    Comment by Vireya | December 6, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

