Quilts in Common

Welcome to our quilting world!

Day Trip to the Oregon Zoo

Summertime is the time for sightseeing ๐Ÿ™‚

Oregon Zoo 2014 Sign

This weekend we traveled to the Oregon Zoo.

IMG_3803

 

Most of the animals were sleepy….Oregon Zoo 2014 Cheetah

Oregon Zoo 2014 Orangutan

Oregon Zoo 2014 Bald Eagles

Oregon Zoo 2014 Giraffe and Gazelle and Condor

 

Some were pacing……

Oregon Zoo 2014 CaracalThat is a caracal– the desert lynx. He had a bad case of cabin fever…..

Oregon Zoo 2014 Hippo

Oregon Zoo 2014 Hippo drinking

IMG_3830

 

Oregon Zoo 2014 Elephant

 

There were pretty places to walk, too.IMG_3822

Oregon Zoo 2014 Doug and Ben

We had a great time!

 

June 19, 2014 Posted by | Travel | Leave a comment

Celtic Solstice is done!

I finally finished last year’s mystery quilt

Celtic Solstice far view

Celtic Solstice Full view

I quilted it on my 1952 Singer 15-91 named Priscilla ๐Ÿ™‚

Celtic Solstice close up

I have a lot of parts leftover- maybe a matching baby quilt? Or pillow shams??

Celtic Solstice showing backing

I found a coordinating backing ๐Ÿ™‚

Celtic Solstice pulled closer

Ready for more fun this year!

Happy Quilting, everyone!

June 19, 2014 Posted by | Quilting | Leave a comment

Bonnie Hunter Comes to Northwest Quilters!

We have been waiting for Bonnie for a long time! After having such a good time at the Portland Block Party, I couldn’t wait to take the 3 workshops that Bonnie had at Northwest Quilters: Cathedral Stars, Smith Mountain Morning, and Love Shack.

Bonnie and I

 

We had such a good time! Bonnie even used my machine for the demo.

Bonnie using Magnumย Mary next to me had the same machine. There were several 301s and many Featherweights. I was also introduced to the 404. Now I have something else to look for on Craigslist ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are my blocks:

IMG_3680

IMG_3683

I ended up making 2 hearts because I messed up on my first heart and made 2 left sides!!! So, I had to make 2 right sides, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

Bonnie is coming back to Hillsboro in 2017! I can’t wait!

June 19, 2014 Posted by | Quilting | Leave a comment